What I Read: January

The first month of 2017 is officially in the books, and now I just need to make it through the darkest, worst month of the year (February) before March slowly starts to usher in Spring. Thank God February is a short month.

I’m off the mark on my reading goals, work has been mentally exhausting so for the last 2 weeks I’ve been coming home and just let my brain go to sleep (aka, binge watching everything). But, I did make some book progress.

To recap, my January reading goals were:
How to Read a Book – Mortimer Adler
The Return of the King – JRR Tolkien
Bearing False Witness: Debunking Centuries of Anti-Catholic Heresies – Rodney Stark

Books I Finished:

The Return of the King: I enjoyed it. I think it was probably my favourite of the Lord of the Rings, which seems to be the standard consensus from people I know. It was still slow going in parts. But, ultimately, I loved it. Probably will never read it again. 4/5

Bearing False Witness: This was great. It gives a solid backing on common Catholic misconceptions and how so much of history got the Church so freaking wrong. I kept forgetting the author was not Catholic and was literally, as he put it, not defending the Church but defending history. Great for Catholics and non-Catholics. 5/5


Books I’m Still working On:

How to Read a Book: I’m still working at this book. It’s more of a textbook than I expected (although, I didn’t really have expectations. It would have been great to have read before I was in university. Gives a thorough explanation on how to effectively absorb what you are reading. I’m 33% of the way through, so I’ll just keep plugging away.

Hostile Witnesses: This is actually a book from my March list, but I started it when I got sick of Adler. I have about 100ish pages left. It’s a good book, and in a similar vein to Bearing False Witness. Except written by a Catholic and about individuals who, through their attempts to discredit the Church, manage to support it.

The World’s First Love: This is the first Ven. Fulton J. Sheen book I’ve started (I’m 2% done) it was a recommendation from my best friend after I told her I couldn’t figure out how to relate to Mary, Mother of God and how a Marian devotion was just not ever going to be my thing. This book was an addition and not part of my 2017 Reading Goals. #IDoWhatIWant

Hush: Oof. This was a spontaneous Amazon Kindle recommendation and it was only $5 so I figured why not. The author, Eishes Chayil (a pseudonym), is telling the story of a girl growing up in a Hassidic Jewish community who finds out her friend is being abused. It’s poorly written and all the characters are 1 dimensional. I’ll probably finish it (I’m nearly half done), but I’ve been skimming a ton because most chapters are unrelated to the bigger story. The book is essentially 2 competing stories.

Books I’ll be Picking up in February:

My February book goals are to finish How to Read a BookHostile Witnesses and Quiet by Susan Cain. I also have For Whom The Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway on my list which I have to start and finish. I’ll also try to finish my two January additions (Hush The World’s First Love). 

In order to do so, I’ll have to read about 50 pages a day (or 32, if I don’t include the 2 additional books).

 

Leave a Reply

