2017 Reading Goals

Another year, another list of reading goals.
Just a recap: my goal for 2016 was 30 books. I read…. sixteen! It was a rough year for reading. But, on the flip side, I finally started using my Goodreads account.

This year I decided to sit down and pick the books I want to read for the year at the beginning of the year. I’ve never done that before, but I’m hoping it keeps me focused (and on budget!). I’m aiming for 3 books every month one fiction, one non-fiction, and one religious.

I want to read books by authors who I normally wouldn’t find inside my own interests bubble so, I’ve decided that any new book I add to my list is going to be from the Rory Gilmore Reading List. I’m a total Gilmore Girls nerd and would love to make it through all of the 300+ books over time.

Is this the longest preamble ever to a book list? Probably.

reading-list

* denote books from the Gilmore Reading List / books in bold are ones I already own


January

How to Read a Book – Mortimer Adler (426 pages)
The Return of the King – JRR Tolkien* (on page 172 of 340 I meant to finish this in 2016 but didn’t)
Bearing False Witness: Debunking Centuries of Anti-Catholic Heresies – Rodney Stark (on page 61 of 232)

February

Quiet: the Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking – Susan Cain (on page 137 of 271)
For Whom the Bell Tolls – Ernest Hemingway (495 pages)
Hostile Witnesses: How the Historic Enemies of the Church Prove Christianity – Gary Michuda (249 pages)

March

Dangerous – Milo Yiannopoulos (320 pages)
The Book of Negroes – Lawrence Hill (470 pages)
Answering Atheism – Trent Horn (267 pages)

April

Salt, Sugar Fat – Michael Moss (on page 80 of 347)
In This House of Brede – Rumer Godden (on page 59 of 498)
Characters of the Reformation – Hilaire Belloc (on page 34 of 178)

May

The Politically Incorrect Guide to Western Civilization – Anthony Esolen (340 pages)
Brave New World – Aldous Huxley* (220 pages)
Last Testament in His Own Words – Pope Benedict XVI with Peter Seewald

June

Scrappy Little Nobody – Anna Kendrick (304 pages)
The Silver Chair – CS Lewis* (not a re-read. 243 pages)
How the Catholic Church built Western Civilization – Thomas E. Woods (225 pages)

July

The Unabridged Journals – Sylvia Plath* (768 pages)
The Last Battle – CS Lewis* (not a re-read. 224 pages)
Evangelizing Catholics – Scott Hahn (on page 53 of 168)

August

The New Philistines – Sohrab Ahmari (144 pages)
The Complete Short Stories – Flannery O’Connor (page 54 of 550)
Interior Castle – St. Teresa of Avila (176 pages)

September

The Year of Magical Thinking – Joan Didion* (240 pages)
The Sound and the Fury – William Faulkner* (368 pages)
Answering the New Atheism – Scott Hahn & Benjamin Wiker (151 pages)

October

Angela’s Ashes – Frank McCourt* (368 pages)
The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath* (272 pages)
Catholicism – Fr. Robert Barron (page 21 of 277)

November

I’m With the Band: Confession of a Groupie – Pamela Des Barres* (352 pages)
The Group – Mary McCarthy* (492 pages)
On the Shoulders of Hobbits – Louis Markos (page 85 of 217)

December

Savage Beauty: The Life of Edna St. Vincent Millay – Nancy Milford* (608 pages)
The Age of Innocence – Edith Wharton* (162 pages)
Jesus of Nazareth: Infancy Narratives – Pope Benedict XVI (144 pages)

 

Curious about my other 2017 goals? I have a whole other post on that!

January Book Updates

 

One thought on “2017 Reading Goals

Leave a Reply

