Not Alone Series (V. 2): Book Chatter

This was the year I decided my blog reemergence would happen. This is my 2nd post of the year. So..fail? I guess. ūüôā But without further ado, this week’s link-up for the Not Alone Series is books! Which is something I ramble about for ages! Check out Lindsay’s blog for the other links.

Not Alone Series- Book Chatter (1)

TOPIC: We all enjoy new reading material, and this year a reading goal just may be on your list of goals. What book genre(s) do you like the most? Do you borrow books from your local library, purchase them for current and future reading, or do you read e-books? What are some books that you loved reading and that you would recommend?

My goal for 2016 is 30 books. I read 24 in 2015, and so far in 2016 I’ve finished..1 new book and 3 re-reads (2 of which I actually started in December, so I’m not sure they count…) so, I’m a little behind. I have 4 books on the go and 3 waiting in the wings.

Genre wise, I’m all over the place. Anything that looks interesting I’ll read. Lately I’ve been trying to read more fiction (I read a ton of non-fiction in 2015) but so far, only one of my books on the go is fiction. I have 2 fiction books waiting on my to read list. Baby steps, I guess.

True story, I don’t even know where the library in my city is. I’ve heard a rumour it is on Carleton St. which is approximately 3 blocks from my office, but I’ve never felt the desire to go find it. I’m a book buyer. Amazon and I are BFFs. This is a symptom of being 4 (5?) and seeing Beauty and the Beast¬†in theatres and falling in love with the Beast’s library and being determined to have a similar library one day. With the ladders and everything. I just can’t quit that dream.

If I had to pick three books from last year to recommend they would be:

  1. Persuasive Pro-Life¬† by Trent Horn: I can not stress enough how much I love this book. It’s a simple breakdown of pretty much all of the pro-choice arguments I’ve heard, it’s not confrontational and easy to read.
  2. My Secret Sister by Helen Edwards and Jenny Lee Smith: Beautiful story of sisters separated at birth due to selfishness and shame, and then re-united  later in life.
  3. Girl at the End of the World by Elizabeth Esther: This was a re-read for me, but I just love this book. It is an autobiography of a girl raised in a home-grown Christian cult and how she handled leaving it. It’s incredible. She has another book coming out¬†in April which I can’t wait for.¬†¬†Elizabeth also blogs.

I’m terrible at GoodReads. It’s just another thing that I don’t have time for (I’m trying to take a step back from my Social Media Presence to clear my head, to be honest, I’d give it up entirely if I didn’t have to keep tabs on it for work). So, I’ll finish this off with my list of books so far.

 

Books I’ve Read So Far in 2016:

  1. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl (clearly a re-read)
  2. Girl at the End of the World by Elizabeth Esther (re-re-read)
  3. The Great Heresies by Hilaire Belloc
  4. Surprised by Truth edited by Patrick Madrid (when I started this post, this was still on my currently reading list. Yay!)

Books I’m Currently Reading:

  1. Answering Atheism by Trent Horn (I’m addicted to his books. So easy to read, but so good).
  2. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop¬†Talking by Susan Cain
  3. Return of the King by JRR Tolkien
  4. The Light by Truth by M.L Steadman

Up Next: 

  1. For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway
  2. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (Completed May 17, 2016)
  3. Characters of the Reformation by Hillaire Belloc

 

nas-pic

 

 

3 thoughts on “Not Alone Series (V. 2): Book Chatter

  1. Those are some solid book choices. You have a good balance between spiritual/serious reading and some just-for-fun reading. I’ve been trying to do more of that, and to read more non-religious nonfiction.

    I find that I started really appreciating Goodreads for on-the-go tracking (the progress feature keeps me honest!) and the ability to pound out quick reviews of just a few sentences right after I finish reading. Those don’t feel like obligations to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

